Massachusetts Law Effective Immediately Bans Commercial Vehicle Operators from Using Hand-Held Mobile Devices

Effective January 5th, a new law in Massachusetts has gone into effect that bans the use of hand-held cellphones while driving a commercial vehicle.  This law will be enforced by the MA State Police Truck Team. It does not affect drivers using mounted mobile phones nor the operation of CB radios.

Penalty for non-compliance: driver is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for 60 days with the second offense in three years. (120 days for each subsequent offense within three years).

To read more about this, click here for a complete notice from the MAIA.  As always, please feel free to contact us should you have any questions.

Be safe.

1-800-DOHERTY

Doherty Insurance Agency
21 Elm Street
Andover, MA. 01810
Telephone: 978-475-0260
Fax: 978-475-0303